The Brandon Environment Committee has been in place since 2005 and various members over the years have helped implement the Environmental Strategic Plan, educate the community on environmental awareness, and advised on several projects. 

In May of 2023 Brandon City Council adopted the Climate Change Action Plan with a goal to be net zero by 2050. Council recognizes that environment and climate change need to be incorporated into decision making and has implemented one of the recommended actions from the plan.

In the fall of 2023 the Brandon Environment Committee was dissolved and a new formal committee of council was created titled Environment & Climate Change Committee of Council. This will lead to more accountability in regards to the implementation of the climate change action plan. 

Council and Appointees:

Tara Leach- 2 year term

Aidan Punak-Murphy- 2 year term

Madelyn Robinson- 3 year term

Elaine Gibson- 3 year term

Wayne Clayton- 3 year term

Shaun Cameron- Councillor- Co Chair

Kris Desjarlais- Councillor- Co Chair

Lindsay Hargreaves- City admin



Meeting Minutes

Click here for more information